Maui Regional ITS Architecture

Stakeholder: County of Maui Department of Fire and Public Safety

Most Maui ITS stakeholders can be associated with one or more ITS elements and ITS Services that make up the Maui regional transportation system. The table below contains the stakeholder description followed by the ITS Elements and ITS Services associated with the stakeholder.

Description: The Department of Fire and Public Safety provides emergency and non-emergency service for the islands of Maui, Molokai, Lanai, Kahoolawe, and the surrounding waters. The Department has 14 fire stations throughout the County of Maui.
Elements Maui Fire Base
Maui Fire Personnel
Maui Fire Vehicles
Service Packages ATMS08 - Traffic Incident Management System - Maui Emergency Vehicles
EM01 - Emergency Call-Taking and Dispatch - Maui Department of Fire and Public Safety
EM02 - Emergency Routing - Maui Department of Fire and Public Safety / Maui Department of Public Works (DPW)
EM02 - Emergency Routing - HDOT Highway Maui District (HDOT-HWY-M) / Maui Department of Fire and Public Safety
EM07 - Early Warning System - County of Maui EOC
EM08 - Disaster Response and Recovery - County of Maui and HDOT (1 of 3)
EM09 - Evacuation and Reentry Management - County of Maui and HDOT
MC12 - Infrastructure Monitoring - Maui Department of Management IT Services

The Hawaiian language uses two diacritical markings. The 'okina is a glottal stop; and the kahako is a macron. The State of Hawaii strongly encourages the use of Hawaiian diacritical markings. The National ITS Architecture tool, Turbo Architecture, does not allow for the Hawaiian diacritical markings to be input and as such, customized service package diagrams, operational concepts and other outputs from Turbo are unable to reflect the diacritical markings. To ensure consistency in this ITS Architecture website, no Hawaiian diacritical markings will be used.